top of page

Smith, Hoeven introduce carbon capture tax credit

Senator Tina Smith (D-MN) and Senator John Hoeven (R-ND) introduced legislation that would incentivize carbon capture from coal plants.

Per a release from Smith's office, " The Carbon Capture Modernization Act updates the tax credit system for coal producers and incentivizes the usage of modern technology to return harmful greenhouse gas emissions in the ground, rather than releasing them into atmosphere. Sen. Smith introduced similar legislation last year with former Senator Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota."


bottom of page